Set up or remove lock dates in Xero - Document cannot be edited as it is currently dated before end of year lock date

This article is for small businesses who use Xero. 

 

Overview

  • Set a lock date to stop changes being made to transactions during a past period.
  • You can change and remove the lock date at any time.

 

About lock dates

  • You need the adviser user role to set and change lock dates.
  • You'd typically set a lock date when your financial records are being prepared for the year, or at the end of a sales tax period.
  • After you set a lock date, users can't add or edit transactions in Xero if the transaction date is on or before the lock date.
  • Users can still create draft invoices, bills and expense claims, and submit these items for approval, and save draft manual journals.
  • You can set lock dates for all user roles, or all user roles except the adviser user role.

Set a lock date

  1. In the Accounting menu, select Advanced, then click Financial settings.
  2. Under Lock Dates, enter the date to lock transactions at.

    Image showing lock date in Financial Settings screen.

  3. Click Save.

Remove a lock date

Users with the adviser user role can remove lock dates temporarily to allow changes to transactions.

  1. In the Accounting menu, select Advanced.
  2. Click Financial settings.
  3. Under Lock Dates, delete the date in the Lock Date field, then click Save.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.